Florida Pharmacists: Label Carefully
We all make mistakes, but if you are a licensed pharmacist in the state of Florida and fail to appropriately label a controlled substance, you can face fines in the amount of $2,500 for each violation and have your license placed on probation.
If you are a Florida-licensed pharmacist and have received an administrative complaint from the Department of Health (DOH), you are probably concerned about how this may affect your license. To set up a FREE no-obligation consultation with attorney Jeff Howell or attorney Rickey Strong, contact the law firm of Howell, Buchan & Strong, Attorneys at Law at 850-877-7776. We represent licensed pharmacists statewide, including out-of-state clients who are concerned about the status of their Florida license.
According to Sections 465.016(1)(e) and 893.04(1)(e), Florida Statutes, the Florida Board of Pharmacy may discipline your license if you fail to appropriately label a controlled substance. According to Rule 64B16-30.001(2)(e)3c, Florida Administrative Code, the penalty if you have no prior disciplinary history is a $250 fine for each violation. If you do have a prior disciplinary history, the stipulated penalties are a $2,500 fine and a one-year probation of your license. Your disciplinary history is a matter of public record, and will be viewable by patients and prospective employers.
However, these penalties are not set in stone. The Board of Pharmacy can take into account any number of aggravating or mitigating factors to increase or lesson the penalties set down in the rules. When you have an experienced health care attorney fighting for you, you stand a much better chance of receiving the lowest possible penalty, and even of getting the complaint against you dismissed.
Contact the law firm of Howell, Buchan & Strong, Attorneys at Law at 850-877-7776 to set up your FREE no-obligation consultation with attorney Jeff Howell or attorney Rickey Strong today. DOH has experienced attorneys on its side. So should you!