Florida Health Care License Attorney

Florida Health Care License

Florida Physical Therapists: Malpractice Can Cost You Your License

If you are a licensed physical therapist in the state of Florida, an accusation of medical malpractice can lead to more than lawsuits and an increase in your insurance premiums: You can lose your license, and with it your ability to earn a living. You can also face up to $10,000 in administrative fines for each offense, and these fines may not be covered by your liability insurance.

If you are a Florida-licensed physical therapist and have received an administrative complaint from the Department of Health (DOH), you are probably concerned about how this may affect your license. To set up a FREE no-obligation consultation with attorney Jeff Howell or attorney Rickey Strong, contact the law firm of Phipps & Howell at 850-222-7000. We represent licensed physical therapists statewide, including out-of-state clients who are concerned about the status of their Florida license.

According to Section 486.125(1)(e), Florida Statutes, the Florida Board of Physical Therapy may discipline your license if you fail to “maintain acceptable standards of physical therapy practice,” as set forth in Rule 64B17-6.001, Florida Administrative Code. According to Rule 64B17-7.001(e), Florida Administrative Code, the penalty if you have no prior disciplinary history is fines in the amount of $1,000 to $6,000 for each violation, and a possible suspension of your license for up to two years. If you have a prior disciplinary history, the stipulated penalties are a $2,000 to $10,000 fine and possible suspension or revocation of your license. Your disciplinary history is a matter of public record, and will be viewable by patients and prospective employers.

However, these penalties are not set in stone. The Board of Physical Theraphy can take into account any number of aggravating or mitigating factors to increase or lesson the penalties set down in the rules. When you have an experienced health care attorney fighting for you, you stand a much better chance of receiving the lowest possible penalty, and even of getting the complaint against you dismissed.

Contact the law firm of Phipps & Howell at 850-222-7000 to set up your FREE no-obligation consultation with attorney Jeff Howell or attorney Rickey Strong today. DOH has experienced attorneys on its side. So should you!