Health Care Attorneys for Licensed Professionals

Howell, Buchan and Strong Logo

Florida Physical Therapists: Sexual Misconduct

December 15, 2018
Est read time: 2 minutes

If you are a licensed physical therapist in the state of Florida, an accusation of sexual misconduct can lead to more than lawsuits and criminal penalties: You can lose your license, and with it your ability to earn a living. You can also face up to $10,000 in administrative fines for each offense, and these fines may not be covered by your liability insurance.

If you are a Florida-licensed physical therapist and have received an administrative complaint from the Department of Health (DOH), you are probably concerned about how this may affect your license. To set up a FREE no-obligation consultation with attorney Jeff Howell or attorney Rickey Strong, contact the law firm of Howell, Buchan & Strong, Attorneys at Law at 850-877-7776. We represent licensed physical therapists statewide, including out-of-state clients who are concerned about the status of their Florida license.

According to Sections 456.063 and 456.072(1)(v), Florida Statutes, the Florida Board of Physical Therapy may discipline your license if you engage in any time of sexual misconduct, even if you aren’t convicted of a crime. The statues define sexual misconduct as using your professional relationship “to engage or attempt to engage the patient or client, or an immediate family member, guardian, or representative of the patient or client in, or to induce or attempt to induce such person to engage in, verbal or physical sexual activity.”

According to Rule 64B17-7.001(w), Florida Administrative Code, the penalty for even a single violation of this statute is fines in the amount of up to $10,000 per violation, and possible suspension or revocation of your license. Your disciplinary history is a matter of public record, and will be viewable by patients and prospective employers.

However, these penalties are not set in stone. The Board of Physical Therapy can take into account any number of aggravating or mitigating factors to increase or lesson the penalties set down in the rules. When you have an experienced health care attorney fighting for you, you stand a much better chance of receiving the lowest possible penalty, and even of getting the complaint against you dismissed.

Contact the law firm of Howell, Buchan & Strong, Attorneys at Law at 850-877-7776 to set up your FREE no-obligation consultation with attorney Jeff Howell or attorney Rickey Strong today. DOH has experienced attorneys on its side. So should you!


Have Questions? Let's Talk

Contact the law firm of Howell, Buchan & Strong at 850-877-7776 to set up a FREE no-obligation consultation. Our firm represents physicians, nurses, psychologists, and other licensed professionals statewide.
Cape Coral:
Top magnifiercross